Home General Who will the Stars draft in 2015?

Who will the Stars draft in 2015?


The WNBA Draft is just days away and the San Antonio Stars are looking to the future. Following the retirement of Becky Hammon, head coach and general manager Dan Hughes has a tall task in this year’s draft – to find the future of the Stars. However, this year’s talent pool is not very deep and with Kayla McBride entering her second season, Hughes is looking to build around her.

Below are two players whom the Stars could draft and help them in an area where they have been weak for years.

  • Isabelle Harrison, center – Tennessee

The Stars have struggled in rebounding department for years and drafting a 6-3 center would help them. San Antonio has averaged 31.7 rebounds per game, 11th in the WNBA. Harrison averaged 9.3 and 8.6 rebounds in previous two years to go along with 12.1 points per game. Tennessee lost Harrison to an ACL injury last season.

  • Dearica Hamby, power forward – Wake Forest

Hamby was one of the few standouts at Wake Forest last year. She averaged a double-double per game and would be a nice addition to the Stars alongside Sophia Young-Malcolm.

The 2015 WNBA Draft will take place on Thursday at 7 p.m. Be sure to follow @sastarshoops and @andersonstevem on Twitter for live updates on the draft.

The Stars will open the 2015 season on June 5 against the defending champion Phoenix Mercury before hosting the Tulsa Shock for their home opener on June 14 at Freeman Coliseum.

Previous articleRampage edged by Griffins in overtime
Next articleFlorida Panthers reassign Trocheck, Petrovic to Rampage
Stephen Michael 26, is a journalist, social media coordinator, host, and entertainment reporter. Michael graduated in 2017 with a bachelor’s degree in Communication Arts and earned a Master's Degree in Digital Media in 2020 from the University of the Incarnate Word. He has worked covering the San Antonio Rampage, Stars, and San Antonio Futbol Club. He was the host of the Project Spurs Roundtable on NBC affiliate News 4 San Antonio from 2015-17.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

12 + six =