Home News Rampage announce 2014-15 team captains

Rampage announce 2014-15 team captains


Pregame-110212The San Antonio Rampage are set to open the 2014-15 campaign in 24 hours and now that the final roster is set, the only thing left to do is name a team captain. The answer to that question was finally answered Thursday night as the captain and alternates were announced by the team.

Head coach Tom Rowe announced the team has chosen defenseman Greg Zanon as captain for the 2014-15 season. Bobby Butler will be an alternate captain, while Garrett Wilson and Alex Petrovic will switch for the second alternate.

Zanon is an NHL veteran and has spent time with Nashville Predators, Minnesota Wild, Boston Bruins and Colorado Avalanche – playing a total of 493 NHL games.

Butler was the leading scorer for the silver and black last season, scoring 22 goals and posted 47 points in 69 games. The 27-year-old has played 130 games in the NHL, playing with the Ottawa Senators, New Jersey Devils, Nashville Predators and Florida Panthers.

The Rampage will return to the ice tomorrow (Friday) when they open the 2014-15 season against the Iowa Wild at the AT&T Center at 7:30 p.m.

Previous articleShane O’Brien assigned to Rampage
Next articleRampage set opening night roster
Stephen Michael 26, is a journalist, social media coordinator, host, and entertainment reporter. Michael graduated in 2017 with a bachelor’s degree in Communication Arts and earned a Master's Degree in Digital Media in 2020 from the University of the Incarnate Word. He has worked covering the San Antonio Rampage, Stars, and San Antonio Futbol Club. He was the host of the Project Spurs Roundtable on NBC affiliate News 4 San Antonio from 2015-17.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

17 − 14 =