Home News Avalanche select seven players in 2017 NHL Draft

Avalanche select seven players in 2017 NHL Draft


The Colorado Avalanche made seven selections in 2017 NHL Draft, completing their picks for the upcoming 2017-18 season.

Colorado picked three forwards, three defensemen and one goaltender with their draft selections with all players coming from different leagues around the globe.

With the 32nd pick in the draft, the Avalanche selected defenseman Conor Timmins. The 18-year-old finished the 2016-17 season with seven goals and 51 assists with the Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds of the OHL.

The Avalanche selected forward Nick Henry from Regina of the WHL with the 94th pick in the fourth round. The 17-year-old tallied 35 goals and 46 assists (81 points) in 72 games in his rookie season.

Goaltender Petr Kvaca was selected in the fourth round as well with the 114th pick. He spent time with the Ceske Budejovice system during the 2016-17 season and posted a 1.41 goals-against average and a .940 save percentage in 18 games.

The fifth round saw Colorado select forward Igor Shvyrev from both Stalnye Lisy Magnitogorsk of the Russian junior league and Metallurg Magnitogorsk of the KHL. He tallied 21 goals and 49 assists for 71 total points in the 2016-17 campaign.

The final selection for the Avalanche was defenseman Nick Leivermann from Eden Prairie High School in Minnesota. The 18-year-old was team captain for the Eagles in the 2016-17 season, posting 10 goals and 24 assists for 34 points.

Previous articleAvalanche select D Cale Makar with fourth overall pick in 2017 NHL Draft
Next articleMatch #15 Preview: SAFC looks to keep unbeaten streak alive in Colorado
Stephen Michael 26, is a journalist, social media coordinator, host, and entertainment reporter. Michael graduated in 2017 with a bachelor’s degree in Communication Arts and earned a Master's Degree in Digital Media in 2020 from the University of the Incarnate Word. He has worked covering the San Antonio Rampage, Stars, and San Antonio Futbol Club. He was the host of the Project Spurs Roundtable on NBC affiliate News 4 San Antonio from 2015-17.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

nine − three =